The boost I needed

Feeling a little unsure about applying for the job at Seattle Shakes. I know I can production manage and that I can stage manage, but can I do it on that scale at the same time? For some perspective, I turned to my good friend and often-times boss, Heather Mayhew, a local PSM herself in the burlesque and beyond community. Seriously, Heather is on the most able and adept theatre artists I’ve met and any time I work with her I learn oodles of new information. She was the first person I thought of for this job, so how would she feel about me trying to do it?

As it turns out, favorably with a hint of realism. She said that she thinks I should apply, but be aware of the fact that I’m still less than a year out of my internship and therefore at a disadvantage in the experience department. I figure, I have work all this year with ACT so I don’t need the job, but it will be a nice exercise in prepping a cover letter and resume.
We open Arcadia tonight and I couldn’t be more thrilled. I love the cast and all that they do. What a talented group of artists. More than that, I’m excited for the Opening Night Party afterwards. We have earned a few cocktails in our efforts to dive head first into Stoppard. Corey has been a blessing since just being with him as enriched my outlook on theatre already. I hope I get to stage manage with him again since he’s one of the best directors to work for out there.
Feelin’ good.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

