Post-Vacation To Do List

The boyfriend and I got home from a blissful ski vacation mere hours ago and already I’m feeling overwhelmed and like I never went on the trip. The purpose of our short jaunt to Crystal Mountain was to celebrate our impending 1 year anniversary, which officially happens on Monday, March 1 and to briefly leave some responsibility behind. We had a lovely four days of skiing, hot chocolate drinking, meeting up with friends, and watching a lot of Olympics. We came back to Seattle and had to quickly drop luggage and move out because the boyfriend was working this evening. I had planned on spending the afternoon casually unpacking, reading, and starting the last week I have off before I go to my next gig at 5th Avenue. But for those who know me and are planners like me, you know what happened next.

The Post-Vacation To Do List started forming.

How could I just sit and read? The clothes had to get unpacked, laundry has to get done, groceries needed to be restocked, all the winter gear has to be put in a slightly more accessible place than before we left…

And Boyfriend asked me to go to Ikea tomorrow. But why should I go tomorrow when I can go today when it’s much less crowded? Also, I want to get his car washed after the trek up and down the mountain. Maybe I could make plans with the Best Friend who I haven’t seen in a week? I have to go make that deposit at the bank and now I should start looking at my taxes, but the cat needs to be played with and that random shelf unit in the middle of the living room is impeding the yoga I want to do right now, but not before I come up with a plan to make those banana chocolate chip scones I told Boyfriend I was going to bake for him with all the bananas that are sitting in the freezer. Did I mention I bought more bananas at the grocery store today?

Sure makes me sound crazy, right?

I also have an urge to eat all the things in my fridge that I swear will go bad in the next hour or two because we left them to sit for 4 days unattended.

Did I mention I still have a week before I actually have to get back to work?

Why do we let our buzz get killed so quickly? I was on cloud 9 this morning, glowing from the four days of utter bliss akin to the honeymoon and now I have tension in my jaw that could crack walnuts. Does this happen because we want a return to normalcy so quickly? Do we create problems where there aren’t any because we are so used to dealing with problems?

I know I like to be busy and I think for me I just went a little overboard on filling the void that was supposed to be the come-down from my time enjoying the constantly falling snow and lack of plan. I know just acknowledging my To Do List has suddenly made it all seem a lot more manageable.

Seems to be a key point in there. If we acknowledge that things are getting out of control, we can gain some perspective and rein them in.

Aaaah, the bliss is returning already.

This entry was posted in out of control, to do lists, vacation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

